This week I received an email from a General Mills employee who I met when I visited their headquarters.
They would like to spread the word that the three versions of Hamburger Helper that were formerly gluten free will not continue to be. That includes, Hamburger Helper Cheesy Hashbrown, Asian Helper Chicken Fried Rice and Asian Helper Beef Fried Rice.
The reason for this change is not due to a change in the ingredients but rather a change in manufacturing facilities. Therefore, they can no longer guarantee that the products will be free from cross contamination.
“Logistically, at the shelf, we are making efforts to minimize overlap and confusion. You may, however find both gluten-free and gluten containing product on the shelf at the same time while the new product works its way through the distribution system. Our recommendation (which of course you don’t need to be reminded of) is to read the information on the ingredient list. The callout “May Contain Wheat” will communicate which product has the potential of containing gluten.”
–Dominic Alcocer, General Mills
I appreciate General Mills’ understanding of the importance of avoiding cross contamination and their desire to be completely up front with this information.