Gluten-Free Ingredients List

If you are new to the gluten-free diet, it’s nice to have a list of ingredients that are gluten-free, and you will quickly learn most of these. A lot has changed in recent years. For example, I used to avoid juices that had citric acid in them because it might not be gluten-free. That is no longer a concern. I also avoided anything that said modified food starch unless I knew from the manufacturer that it was gluten-free. Thanks to research and food labeling laws, our job is a lot easier. Some of these things we now know are always gluten-free. Others that might in rare instances contain wheat will have wheat listed on the label.

Gluten-Free Flours

Amaranth
Arrowroot
Buckwheat (it is often combined with wheat flour in pancake mixes)
Corn
Millet
Montina
Potato
Quinoa
Rice
Sorghum
Soy
Tapioca
Teff

Other Gluten-Free Ingredients

Carmel color (in the US this is made from corn)
Citric acid
Dextrin (may in rare cases be made from wheat, but label would say so)
Dextrose
Flavors (may in rare cases be made from wheat, but label would say so)
Glucose syrup
Guar gum
Lecithin
Maltodextrin
Modified food starch (may in rare cases be made from wheat, but label would say so)
Mono and diglycerides
MSG
Vanilla
Vinegar (all except for malt vinegar)
Whey
Yeast (except for brewer’s yeast)
Xanthan gum

Note on the food labeling law: Out of the three gluten-containing grains, wheat, rye, and barley, only wheat is required to be listed on labels. Rye will be pretty obvious, but there are a couple of places where barley could pop up such as malt flavorings and malt vinegar.




signature

If you have a question about a recipe (especially substitutions and nutritional information), please read my FAQ page before asking the question in a comment.

Speak Your Mind

*



Gluten-Free Products on Amazon Help support this site (at no additional cost to you) and start your purchase here.

Amazon affiliate link

Enter your Email for free updates.
Web Analytics