Gluten-Free Ingredients C-G

Gluten-Free Ingredients

Gluten-Free Ingredients is a mini series where I highlight ingredients that are usually gluten free.   I am highlighting less common and “little” ingredients in this series and will not be covering the wide range  gluten-free flours and grains.

The following ingredients are considered gluten free unless otherwise noted.

Caramel Color – In the US, corn is used to make caramel color, according to caramel color producers.

Casein – This is a protein found in milk.

Citric Acid –Not usually made from wheat, but even when it is, it is so highly processed that no gluten remains.

Corn – Corn products are gluten free including corn starch, syrup, and gluten.

Dextrose – Made from starch and only rarely is it made from wheat starch.  Even when it is, this ingredient is highly processed and no gluten remains.

Fructose – Fruit sugar.

Fumaric Acid – An acidity regulator.

Gelatin – Made from collagen and used as a stabilizer or thickener.

Glucose Syrup – A sweetener, usually made from corn.  It could be made from wheat, but it is highly processed and gluten free regardless.

Glutamic Acid – Flavor enhancer.

Guar Gum – Used as a thickener and binder.

Gum Arabic – A natural gum used as a binder.

Note: I’m not saying that these ingredients are good for you, just that they are gluten free.

Gluten-Free Ingredients A-B

Gluten-Free Ingredients H – N

Gluten-Free Ingredients S – Y

Reading Labels

If you’re new to reading labels, see my series:

This post may contain affiliate links. See my disclosure policy for more information.

If you have a question about a recipe (especially substitutions and nutritional information), please read my FAQ page before asking the question in a comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>