Gluten-Free Ingredients C-G

Gluten-Free Ingredients

Gluten-Free Ingredients is a mini series where I highlight ingredients that are usually gluten free.   I am highlighting less common and “little” ingredients in this series and will not be covering the wide range  gluten-free flours and grains.

The following ingredients are considered gluten free unless otherwise noted.

Caramel Color – In the US, corn is used to make caramel color, according to caramel color producers.

Casein – This is a protein found in milk.

Citric Acid –Not usually made from wheat, but even when it is, it is so highly processed that no gluten remains.

Corn – Corn products are gluten free including corn starch, syrup, and gluten.

Dextrose – Made from starch and only rarely is it made from wheat starch.  Even when it is, this ingredient is highly processed and no gluten remains.

Fructose – Fruit sugar.

Fumaric Acid – An acidity regulator.

Gelatin – Made from collagen and used as a stabilizer or thickener.

Glucose Syrup – A sweetener, usually made from corn.  It could be made from wheat, but it is highly processed and gluten free regardless.

Glutamic Acid – Flavor enhancer.

Guar Gum – Used as a thickener and binder.

Gum Arabic – A natural gum used as a binder.

Note: I’m not saying that these ingredients are good for you, just that they are gluten free.

Other posts in this series

Gluten-Free Ingredients A-B

Reading Labels

If you’re new to reading labels, see my series:




signature

Speak Your Mind

*



Gluten-Free Products on Amazon Help support this site (at no additional cost to you) and start your purchase here.

Amazon affiliate link

Enter your Email for free updates.
Web Analytics