Gluten-Free Ingredients: A–B

Gluten-Free Ingredients

Gluten-Free Ingredients is a new series where I plan to highlight ingredients that are usually gluten free.  For a person who is new to the gluten-free diet, reading food labels can be daunting, especially when the ingredient list is long.

Hopefully this series will make the task a bit easier.  I am highlighting less common and “little” ingredients in this series and will not be covering the wide range of gluten-free flours and grains.   I’m starting with ingredients that begin with the letter “A” and will work through the series alphabetically.

The following ingredients are considered gluten free unless otherwise noted.

Gluten-Free Ingredients

Agar-Agar – A gelatinous substance derived from red algae.  It is often used as a vegan alternative to gelatin.

Annatto – An ingredient that is used for natural food coloring.  It is derived from the seeds of the achiote tree.

Arabic Gum – A resin derived from the mastic tree.  It is used as a stabilizer.

Artificial Colors – Used in many foods to make them more visually appealing.

Ascorbic Acid – A form of vitamin C.

Beta Carotene – A natural substance which is converted to vitamin A in the body.

BHA – Butylated hydroxyanisole – A compound added to food to preserve fat.

BHT – Butylated hydroxytoluene – A compound added to food to preserve fat.

Note:  I’m not saying that these ingredients are good for you, just that they are gluten free.

Reading Labels

If you’re new to reading labels, see my series:




signature

Comments

  1. What a great idea — little lists that I can read quickly!

If you have a question about a recipe (especially substitutions and nutritional information), please read my FAQ page before asking the question in a comment.

Speak Your Mind

*



Gluten-Free Products on Amazon Help support this site (at no additional cost to you) and start your purchase here.

Amazon affiliate link

Enter your Email for free updates.
Web Analytics